

April 22, 2024

The Honorable Janet Yellen Secretary of the Treasury Department of the Treasury 1500 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20220

Dear Madam Secretary:

The Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (CCAC) held a public meeting on April 17, 2024, during which the CCAC reviewed the candidate designs for the 250th Anniversary of the United States Marine Corps Commemorative Coin Program. The Marine Corps was founded on November 10, 1775, in Philadelphia, when two battalions of Continental Marines were formed. In 2025, the Marine Corps will celebrate its 250th Anniversary. Designs for this program are to be emblematic of the 250th anniversary of the United States Marine Corps. The Mint worked with the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation in the development of these designs. Two liaisons from the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation were present at the meeting: Major General James W. Lukeman (USMC ret.) and Jennifer Vanderveld.

Following Major General Lukeman's impassioned presentation on the symbolic significance and reasoning for the Marine Corps Heritage Foundation's candidate design preferences, the CCAC reviewed all the candidate designs and deliberated. Subsequently, the CCAC approved a motion (nine in favor, one against) to recommend the liaisons' preferences: that all three coins in the program share a common reverse (**USMC-S-R-05**); that **USMC-G-O-09** depicting a Marine Color Guard Platoon serve as the obverse for the gold coin; that **USMC-C-O-03** depicting the iconic flag raising on Iwo Jima on February 23, 1945 by men of the 5th Marine Division serve as the obverse for the silver coin (note that this obverse is from the clad coin portfolio); and that **USMC-S-O-05B** depicting the notion that every Marine is first and foremost a rifleman yesterday and today serve as the obverse for the clad coin (note that this obverse design is from the silver portfolio).

It is an honor to serve as the Chair of the CCAC and proud of the CCAC's role in United States coins and medals.

Sincerely,

Peter van Alfen, PhD, CCAC Chair