Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee

801 Ninth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20220



United States Mint 8019th Street NW Washington DC 20220 CCAC Public Meeting

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

CCAC Members: U.S. Mint Personnel:

Robert Hoge **Betty Birdsong** Erik Jansen Pam Borer Mary Lannin Vanessa Franck Michael Moran Ron Harrigal Jeanne Stevens-Sollman April Stafford Dennis Tucker (by telephone) Megan Sullivan Thomas Uram Roger Vasquez Herman Viola Greg Weinman

Liaisons

Heidi Wastweet

William Thiesen - United States Coast Guard Bill Harris - United States Air Force

- 1. Acting Chairperson Wastweet opened the meeting at 9:30 am.
- 2. Erik Jansen moved to approve the minutes and letters from September 27, 2018. The motion was seconded by Jeanne Stevens-Sollman and passed unanimously.
- 3. Megan Sullivan of the United States Mint's Office of Design Management presented the candidate designs for the U.S. Coast Guard Medal. William Thiesen, historian with the Coast Guard joined the discussion by telephone.

After discussion of the designs, the Committee votes were:

CG-0-01	18
CG-0-02	3
CG-0-03	2
CG-0-04A/04B	17
CG-0-05	0
CG-0-06	0
CG-0-07	1

CG-0-10	0
CG-R-01	0
CG-R-03	2
CG-R-04	7
CG-R-05	0
CG-R-06	0
CG-R-07	20
CG-R-08	11
CG-R-09	18
CG-R-10	0

Heidi Wastweet made a motion, seconded by Herman Viola, to finalize the recommendation of the obverse design between designs CG-0-01 and CG-0-04A/04B. The motion passed unanimously. CG-0-01 received 2 votes and CG-0-04A/04B received 5 votes.

Dennis Tucker made a motion, seconded by Erik Jansen, to finalize the recommendation of the reverse design between designs CG-R-07, CG-R-08, and CG-R-09. The vote was 4-4 and passed with the Acting Chair's tiebreaking vote. CG-R-07 received 1 vote, CG-R-08 received 4 votes, and CG-R-09 received 4 votes. The Acting Chair held a runoff between CG-R-08 and CG-R-09. CG-R-08 received 4 votes and CG-R-09 received 5.

Mary Lannin made a motion, seconded by Erik Jansen, that design CG-0-04B be the recommended obverse design. The motion passed unanimously.

4. April Stafford of the United States Mint's Office of Design Management presented the candidate designs for the Air Force Medal. Bill Harris, Deputy Director of the Air Force History Program joined the discussion by telephone.

After discussion of the designs, the Committee votes were:

AF-0-01	17	Committee Recommendation
AF-0-0IA	10	
AF-0-02	7	
AF-0-03	2	
AF-0-04	0	
AF-0-05	13	
AF-0-0SA	0	
AF-0-07	3	
AF-0-08	9	
AF-0-10	6	
AF-0-11	6	
AF-0-IIA	1	
AF-0-12	3	

AF-R-01	0	
AF-R-02	5	
AF-R-03	11	
AF-R-04	12	Committee Recommendation
AF-R-05	0	
AF-R-06	3	
AF-R-08	1	
AF-R-09	1	
AF-R-10	6	
AF-R-11	1	
AF-R-12	11	
AF-R-15	7	

Michael Moran made a motion, seconded by Tom Uram, to remove the inscription "CRITICAL TO THE PAST, ESSENTIAL TO THE FUTURE" from AF-0-01. The motion passed unanimously.

5. April Stafford presented the candidate designs for the 2021 Native American \$1 Coin Program. After discussion of the designs, the Committee votes were:

11
0
7
5
3
12
17
0
1
0
0
7
4
17
0

Erik Jansen made a motion, seconded by Mary Lannin, to adopt NA-2021-04A as the recommended design. The motion passed 7-2.

6. April Stafford presented the candidate designs for the 2022 Native American \$1 Coin Program. After discussion of the designs, the Committee votes were:

NA-2022-01 3

NA-2022-0IA	7
NA-2022-02	0
NA-2022-03	6
NA-2022-04	3
NA-2022-05	21
NA-2022-06	5
NA-2022-07	5
NA-2022-08	5
NA-2022-09	1
NA-2022-10	0
NA-2022-IOA	0
NA-2022-11	3
NA-2022-12	4
NA-2022-13	1
NA-2022-14	1
NA-2022-14A	18

Dennis Tucker made a motion, seconded by Erik Jansen, to change the inscription of Ely Parker's name to a depiction of his signature. The motion passed unanimously.

Jeanne Stevens-Sollman made a motion, seconded by Herman Viola, to add the inscription "Tonawanda Seneca" to the design. The motion passed 7-2.

- 7. April Stafford presented candidate designs and design concepts for the 2021-2025 American Eagle Platinum Proof Program. The committee completed merit scoring to recommend design concepts for continued development by the Mint.
- 8. A motion was made by Jeanne Stevens-Sollman, seconded by Mary Lannin, to adjourn. The vote was unanimous.
- 9. Acting Chairperson Wastweet adjourned the meeting at 3:46 p.m.