

## United States Mint 801 9<sup>th</sup> Street NW Washington DC 20220 CCAC Public Meeting

Wednesday, November 14, 2018

CCAC Members:

U.S. Mint Personnel:

Sam Gill Robert Hoge Erik Jansen Mary Lannin Michael Moran Robin Salmon Donald Scarinci Jeanne Stevens-Sollman Dennis Tucker Thomas Uram Herman Viola

Betty Birdsong Vanessa Franck Ron Harrigal April Stafford Megan Sullivan Greg Weinman

<u>Liaisons</u> Scott Miller – The American Legion

- 1. Acting Chairperson Scarinci opened the meeting at 1:00 pm.
- 2. David Croft, Acting Deputy Director of the Mint, swore in the new members of the CCAC, Sam Gill and Robin Salmon.
- 3. Erik Jansen moved to approve the minutes and letters from October 16, 2018. The motion was seconded by Jeanne Stevens-Sollman and passed unanimously.
- 4. April Stafford of the United States Mint's Office of Design Management presented the candidate designs for the American Veterans Medal. Scott Miller, Director, Marketing & Business Development at the American Legion joined the discussion by telephone.

After discussion of the designs, the Committee votes were:

AV-O-01	1
AV-O-02	4
AV-O-03	16
AV-O-04	15
AV-O-05	14

AV-0-06	11
AV-0-07	3
AV-0-08	1
AV-0-09	8
AV-O-10	12
AV-0-11	3
AV-0-12	2
AV-0-13	1
AV-0-14	2
AV-0-15	3

A discussion took place in regard to the highest scored obverses of AV-O-03 and AV-O-04. A tie breaker vote ended in a tie as there were only 10 members present at this point in the meeting and the committee decided to recommend both obverses.

AV-R-02	
	1
AV-R-03	9
AV-R-04	5
AV-R-04A	4
AV-R-05	13
AV-R-06	9
AV-R-08	20
AV-R-09	13
AV-R-10	2
AV-R-11	3
AV-R-12	6
AV-R-13	1
AV-R-15	10
AV-R-16	8
AV-R-17	3
AV-R-18	3
AV-R-19	2
AV-R-19A	3
AV-R-20	1

AV-R-08 received the highest number of votes and the committee agreed it would be their recommendation.

5. The committee reviewed the 2018 Annual Report and voted to approve it after an addition of 2021 commemorative coin honoring Albert Einstein and the 100th Anniversary of his receipt of the Nobel Prize. The committee decided to remove the suggestion of a commemorative coin featuring the 100th anniversary of the U.S. Mint's transfer of assets to the Smithsonian. The Annual report was unanimously approved with these changes after a motion was made by Erik Jansen and seconded by Jeanne Stevens-Sollman.

- 6. Acting Chairperson Donald Scarinci lead the discussion in regard to whether the American Innovation series, starting with coins issued in 2019, should have a template for the reverse to accommodate the consistent placement of the inscription of "United States of America" and the respective jurisdiction. Additionally the committee discussed whether the reverse would feature a privy mark and if the privy mark should be in the same place on each reverse or if it would vary.
- 7. A motion was made by Donald Scarinci, seconded by Erik Jansen, to adjourn. The vote was unanimous.
- 8. Acting Chairperson Scarinci adjourned the meeting at 3:15 p.m.