Minutes of CCAC Telephonic Public Meeting April 14, 2020 (1:03 p.m.–1:25 p.m. ET)

I. Attendance

- a. CCAC Members in Attendance (by phone):
 - Thomas Uram (Chairman)
 - Lawrence Brown
 - Sam Gill
 - Robert Hoge
 - Dean Kotlowski
 - Mary Lannin
 - Michael Moran
 - Robin Salmon
 - Donald Scarinci
 - Jeanne Stevens-Sollman
 - Dennis Tucker
- b. Mint Staff in Attendance (by phone):
 - Jennifer Warren, Director of Legislative Affairs; Liaison to the CCAC
 - Betty Birdsong, Deputy Director of Legislative Affairs
 - Greg Weinman, Senior Legal Counsel; Counsel to the CCAC
 - April Stafford, Director, Office of Design Management
 - Megan Sullivan, Program Manager
 - Pam Borer, Program Manager
 - Boneza Hanchock, Program Manager
 - Joe Menna, Chief Engraver
 - Ron Harrigal, Manager of Design and Engraving
- c. Members of the Media in Attendance (by phone):
 - Brandon Hall, Coin Update and Mint News Blog
 - Mike Unser, Coin News

II. Minutes

- 1. The fully telephonic public meeting was called to order by Chairman Thomas Uram at 1:03 p.m. Roll was called of the CCAC Members, Mint staff and media. All CCAC Members were in attendance on the call.
- 2. Chairman Uram invited a motion to approve the minutes and Secretary's letters from the March 10 and 11, 2020, meetings. The motion was made by Mary Lannin, seconded by Robert Hoge, and passed unanimously by voice vote.
- 3. April Stafford, Chief of the Mint's Office of Design Management, presented the candidate designs for the obverse of the Presidential \$1 Coin design honoring President George H.W. Bush. The 2020 Presidential \$1 Coin was authorized by Public Law 116-112.
- 4. April Stafford noted that the preference of the Bush family, and also the preference of the U.S. Commission of Fine Arts, was Design 1 (GHWB-01).
- 5. The Committee reviewed the candidate designs, focusing on Design 1 (GHWB-01), which was found to be warm, engaging, friendly, and forward-looking. Chief Engraver Joe Menna observed the humanity and noble aesthetic of the portrait in Design 1 (GHWB-01), and said that it would be easy to sculpt. Dean Kotlowski noted the portrait's contrast with President Bush's more stoic portrayal on the U.S. Postal Service's commemorative stamp.
- 6. After discussion and review of the candidate designs for the George H.W. Bush Presidential \$1 Dollar Coin, Lawrence Brown made a motion for the Committee to recommend Design 1 (GHWB-01) to the Secretary of the Treasury. Dennis Tucker seconded, and the motion was carried unanimously by voice vote.
- 7. Chairperson Uram invited a motion to adjourn—made by Mary Lannin and seconded by Robert Hoge—and the meeting was adjourned at 1:25 p.m.