Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee

801 Ninth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20220



United States Mint 801 9th Street NW Washington DC 20220 CCAC Public Meeting

Tuesday April 16, 2019

CCAC Members:

Sam Gill
Robert Hoge
Erik Jansen (on phone)
Dean Kotlowski
Mary Lannin
Mike Moran
Robin Solmon
Donald Scarinci
Jeanne Stevens-Sollman
Thomas Uram

U.S. Mint Personnel:

Betty Birdsong Pam Borer Vanessa Franck Ron Harrigal Joe Menna (Chief Engraver) April Stafford Megan Sullivan Greg Weinman

Liaisons/Stakeholders:

Mayflower 400th Anniversary

Dr. Herman Viola (in person) National Museum of the American Indian

Ms. Lea Filson General Society of Mayflower Descendants (Former Governor General)

Ms. Bettina Washington (Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head - Aquinnah) Tribal Historic Preservation Officer – Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head

American Innovation \$1 Coin (all on phone)

Delaware

- Dava Sobel, Author, The Glass Universe
- Courtney Stewart, Deputy Secretary of State

Pennsylvania

• Julia Brinjac, Deputy Policy Director, Department of Banking & Securities

New Jersey

- Sara R. Cureton, Executive Director, New Jersey Historical Commission
- 1. Chairperson, Thomas Uram opened meeting at 9:37 am
- 2. First order of business was to swear in our newest member, Dr. Dean Kotlowski. Appointed by Secretary Mnuchin December 7, 2018 for a four year term for the CCAC as a member specially qualified to serve the advisory committee by virtue of education, training, work experience, and American History. Dr. Kotlowski was sworn in by United States Mint Director David Ryder.
- 3. Jeanne Stevens Sollman made a motion to approve the minutes from the November 14, 2018 meeting. Second by Mary Lannin
- 4. April Stafford of the United States Mint's Office of Design Management presented the candidate designs for the Mayflower 400th Anniversary gold coin and silver medal program. After several hours of discussion with the stakeholders and committee, the decision was made to have mint official continue dialogue to determine the best design for planchet size, as well as, the optimum design that would be compatible with the British Royal Mint Coin. Votes were taken and no clear design received a majority total of the votes.
- 5. April Stafford, presented the designs for the 2019 American Innovation Dollar, Public Law 115-197. States to be reviewed; Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, there were concerns from some members that states are presenting various themes. The question is: "Are we selecting themes as well as designs?"

The attached pages are the results of the committee votes:
Attachment 1 CCAC Mayflower votes 4/16/19
Attachment 2 CCAC States (DE, PA, NJ, GA) votes 4/16/19

6. Meeting recessed at 3:12 pm

Mayflower Silver Medal

01- SM-O	Obverse Reverse	8 4
01A- SM-O	Obverse Reverse	7
02- SM-O	Obverse Reverse	3
02A- SM-O	Obverse Reverse	3
03A-SM-O	Obverse Reverse	3
04A-SM-O	Obverse Reverse	7 1
05B-SM-O 05C-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	3 2
06B-SM-O 06C-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	11 8
07A-SM-O 07A-SM-O	Obverse Reverse	9 8
08A-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	7 9
09A-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	8 5
10-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	5 3
11-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	16 12
12-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	10 8
13-SM-R	Obverse Reverse	13 11

Mayflower Gold Coin

01-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	7 4
01A-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	4 2
02-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	3
02A-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	3
03-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	7 2
04-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	2
05-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	2 2
06-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	3 6
07-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	11 7
08-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	5 5
09-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	22 11
10-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	9 10
11-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	6 4
12-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	7 5
13-GC-O	Obverse Reverse	5 3

Attachment 2 – American Innovation \$1 Coin CCAC Public Meeting Minutes 4/16/19

Delaware		Pennsylvai	<u>nia</u>	New Jersey	<u>y</u>	<u>Georgia</u>	
Reverse DE-R-01	3	Reverse PA-R-01	3	Reverse NJ-R-01	5	Reverse GA-R-01	8
DE-R-01A	3	PA-R-02	2	NJ-R-02	24	GA-R-02	24
DE-R-02	1	PA-R-03	11	NJ-R-03	4	GA-R-03	10
DE-R-03	1	PA-R-04	3	NJ-R-04	1	GA-R-04	0
DE-R-04	3	PA-R-04A	3	NJ-R-05	3	GA-R-05	3
DE-R-05	25	PA-R-05	2	NJ-R-05A	0	GA-R-06	1
DE-R-06	1	PA-R-05A	2	NJ-R-06	0		
DE-R-07	2	PA-R-06	2	NJ-R-07	0		
DE-R-08	1	PA-R-07	0	NJ-R-08	0		
DE-R-09	1	PA-R-08	4	NJ-R-09	2		
DE-R-10	1	PA-R-09	1	NJ-R-10	0		
DE-R-11	2	PA-R-10	1	NJ-R-11	0		
DE-R-12	0	PA-R-11	23	NJ-R-12	0		
DE-R-13	1	PA-R-13	0	NJ-R-13	0		
DE-R-14	0	PA-R-16	0	NJ-R-14	3		
DE-R-15	0	PA-R-18	0	NJ-R-15	0		
DE-R-16	0	PA-R-19	0				
		PA-R-20	1				
		PA-R-21	0				

Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee

801 Ninth Street, NW, Washington, DC 20220



United States Mint 801 9th Street NW Washington DC 20220 CCAC Public Meeting

Wednesday, April 17, 2019

CCAC Attendees: Mint Staff:

Sam Gill Betty Birdsong Robert Hoge Pam Borer

Dean Kotlowski Joe Menna (Chief Engraver)

Donald Scarinci
Mary Lannin
Mike Moran
Robin Salmon

Ron Harrigal
April Stafford
Megan Sullivan
Greg Weinman

Jeanne Stevens-Sollman

Thomas Uram

- 1. Presentation of the United States Mint Public Service Awards: Director David Ryder presented awards to Heidi Wastweet and Herman Viola. This award is presented to CCAC members who served his or her entire appointed term. The committee congratulated both for their dedicated and valuable service to the CCAC.
- 2. April Stafford presented the discussion of the 2021-2025 American Eagle Platinum Proof Coin program.

The attached page (Attachment 1) details the results of the committee votes for the American Eagle Platinum Proof Coin Program.

3. Meeting adjourned 11:22 am

American Eagle Platinum Proof Coin Program Votes

2021-01	6
2022-01	6
2023-01	7
2024-01	10
2025-01	6
2021-02	24
2022-02	24
2023-02	24
2024-02	24
2025-02	24
2021-03	4
2022-03	6
2023-03	4
2024-03	4
2025-03	6
AEP-01	7
AEP-02	7
AEP-02A	3
AEP-11	6
AEP-12	8
AEP-13	6
AEP-14	0
AEP-15	5
AEP-15A	4
AEP23-01	1