Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee Public Meeting Friday, November 22, 2013, 10:00 AM United State Mint Headquarters 801 9<sup>th</sup> Street NW, 2<sup>nd</sup> Floor Conference Room Washington, D.C.

In attendance:

Michael Bugeja Erik Jansen Gary Marks (Chair) Michael Moran Michael Olson (Present via telephone) Michael Ross Donald Scarinci Jeanne Stevens-Sollman Thomas Uram Heidi Wastweet

- 1. Chairperson Marks called the meeting to order at 10:10 A.M.
- 2. April Stafford of the United States Mint presented the candidate reverse designs for the 2014 American Eagle Platinum Coin Program.
- 3. After each member had commented on the candidate designs, Committee members rated proposed designs by assigning 0, 1, 2, or 3 points to each, with higher points reflecting more favorable evaluations. With ten (10) members voting, the maximum possible point total was thirty (30). The committee's scores for the 2014 American Eagle Platinum Coin Program:

Reverse designs: AEP-R-01: 4 AEP-R-02: 0 AEP-R-03: 0 2 AEP-R-04: AEP-R-05: 3 0 AEP-R-06: AEP-R-07: 3 8 AEP-R-08: 0 AEP-R-09: AEP-R-10: 0 AEP-R-11: 23 (Recommended design) AEP-R-11: 0

- 4. April Stafford of the United States Mint presented the candidate designs for the 2014 First Spouse Gold Bullion Coin Program honoring Florence Harding, Grace Coolidge, Lou Hoover and Eleanor Roosevelt.
- 5. After each member had commented on the candidate designs, Committee members rated proposed designs by assigning 0, 1, 2, or 3 points to each, with higher points reflecting more favorable evaluations. With ten (10) members voting, the maximum possible point total was thirty (30). The committee's scores for the 2014 First Spouse Gold Bullion Coin Program:

Harding Obverse designs: FH-O-01: 18 FH-O-02: 23 (Recommended design) FH-O-03: 2

Harding Reverse designs:

FH-R-01: 2 FH-R-02: 1 FH-R-03: 2 FH-R-04: 3 FH-R-05: 0 FH-R-06: 28 (Recommended design)

Coolidge Obverse designs:

GC-O-01: 3 GC-O-02: 24 (Recommended design) GC-O-03: 4 GC-O-04: 0 GC-O-05: 0 GC-O-06: 0

Coolidge Reverse designs: GC-R-01: 0 GC-R-02: 3 GC-R-03: 29 (Recommended design) GC-R-04: 13 GC-R-05: 0

Hoover Obverse designs: LH-O-01: 10 LH-O-02: 8 LH-O-03: 0 LH-O-04: 20 (Recommended design)

Hoover Reverse designs: LH-R-01: 3 LH-R-02: 0 LH-R-03: 4 LH-R-04: 28 (Recommended design) LH-R-05: 0

Roosevelt Obverse designs:

ER-O-01: 0 ER-O-02: 0 ER-O-03: 6 ER-O-04: 21 (Recommended design) ER-O-05: 1 ER-O-06: 11 ER-O-07: 3

Hoover Reverse designs: ER-R-01: 0 ER-R-02: 0 ER-R-03: 27 (Recommended design) ER-R-04: 0 ER-R-05: 5 ER-R-06: 9

- 6. It was noted that the minutes from the October 18, 2013 meeting incorrectly spelled Erik Jansen's name in two places. The letters and minutes of the October 18, 2013 meeting were unanimously approved with corrections as noted above.
- 7. April Stafford of the United States Mint presented the background for the 2014 March of Dimes Commemorative Coin Program including potential design themes suggested by the March of Dimes organization for the program. These included representations of victory over polio, depictions of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, Jonas Salk, poster child, a field of trial children, and President Roosevelt in a wheelchair.
- 8. The Committee discussed potential design themes for the March of Dimes program. Ideas included placement of the Roosevelt Dime's obverse on the obverse of the dollar coin, creation of a cavity on the dollar coin in which a dime could be attached, and a slot or a space in the dollar coin where a dime could be inserted (as symbolism for the original March of Dime fundraising boards).
- 9. Chairperson Marks introduced the discussion on the 2015 and 2016 First Spouse Gold Bullion Coin Program honoring Bess Truman, Mamie Eisenhower, Jackie Kennedy, Lady Bird Johnson, Pat Nixon and Betty Ford.
- 10. Mr. Ross provided comments on each of the first spouses to be honored through the program in 2015 and 2016. He emphasized that each first spouse should be honored with portrayals of their accomplishments in life rather than domestic

themes. He said designs that focused on symbolic portrayals that tend to inspire would be ideal for the program. Committee members expressed their support and agreement for Mr. Ross' comments.

- 11. Chairperson Marks led a discussion on 2018 commemorative program recommendations to be included in the FY13 Annual Report. After discussion, Ms. Stevens-Sollman made a motion, seconded by Mr. Uram, recommending (a) a commemorative program honoring the 100<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of the U.S. Airmail Service, (b) a commemorative program honoring the end of World War I, and (c) for the FY14 Annual Report, a commemorative program for 2019 honoring the nation's Fallen Firefighters. The motion was approved unanimously.
- 12. Mr. Marks led a discussion on the update of the Visual Definition of Coin and Medal Design Excellence (i.e. the Definition). Mr. Marks stated that the Definition was first created as part of the 2011 Blueprint for Excellence in Coin and Medal Design. A series of designs, both domestic and foreign, previously nominated by Committee members were presented via a PowerPoint Presentation. Subsequently, Committee members voted for designs they felt met the criteria for inclusion in the Definition. After the balloting was completed, Mr. Marks announced that the revised Definition would be published to the Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee Website.
- 13. A motion was made by Ms. Stevens-Sollman, and seconded by Mr. Ross, to recommend that the letters "U S A" appearing on the wrists depicted in reverse design GC-R-03 (honoring Grace Coolidge) be moved to the empty field existing in the lower area of the design. The motion was approved on a vote of six (6) ayes and three (3) noes.
- 14. Regarding design AEP-R-11, recommended by the Committee for the 2014 American Eagle Platinum Coin Program, a motion was made by Ms. Wastweet, and seconded by Chairperson Marks, to remove the road appearing in lower right region of the design. Discussion by members suggested the road was not necessary for the design. The motion was approved on a vote of seven (7) ayes, one (1) no, and one (1) abstention.
- 15. There being no further business, Chairperson Marks adjourned the meeting at 3:26 p.m.